Manu Ginobili, Tim Hardaway, Swin Cash, Lindsay Whalen among 13

The San Antonio Spurs have won three championships since the turn of the century. Manu Ginobili and Tim Hardaway are among those who called them their favorite team in 2018, with Swin Cash crediting them for teaching her what it means to be a champion.

Manu Ginobili, Tim Hardaway, Swin Cash, and Lindsay Whalen are among the 13 NBA players who will be retiring this season.

2:18 PM EST ET

  • ESPN’s Andrew Lopez

Manu Ginobili, a four-time NBA champion, Tim Hardaway, a five-time NBA All-Star, Swin Cash, a three-time WNBA champion and two-time gold medalist, and Lindsay Whalen, a five-time WNBA All-Star and four-time WNBA champion, were among the 13 members of the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame Class of 2022 announced on Saturday.

Bob Huggins, a two-time NCAA Coach of the Year, George Karl, a long-time NBA coach, Hugh Evans, a long-time NBA referee, and Marianne Stanley, a former NCAA champion and WNBA Coach of the Year, were among the other recipients.

Along with those eight, the Veterans Committee chose six-time NBA All-Star Lou Hudson, the Contributor Committee chose six-time NBA All-Star and former coach Larry Costello and former coach Del Harris, the Women’s Veterans Committee chose former AIAW three-time All-American Theresa Shank-Grentz, and the International Committee chose Radivoj Korac, who once scored 99 points in a EuroLeague game.

The following is a breakdown of the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame Class of 2022, as determined by a committee:

Committee of the Americas Hugh Evans is a British actor. Ginobili Manu Ginobili Manu Ginobili Manu Gin Tim Hardaway is a basketball player who plays in the NBA Huggins, Bob George Karl Karl George Karl Karl Karl Karl Karl Karl Karl

Committee on Women’s Issues Cash Swin Lindsay Whalen, Marianne Stanley

Lou Hudson is a member of the Veterans Direct Elect Committee.

Larry Costello, Del Harris, Larry Costello, Del Harris, Larry Costello, Del Harris, Larry Costello, Del Harris, Larry Costello

Theresa Shank-Grentz, Women’s Veterans Direct Elect Committee

Radivoj Korac, International Direct Elect Committee

In a statement, Hall of Fame president and CEO John L. Doleva remarked, “The Class of 2022 is rich with people who have had a tremendous historical effect on the game we love.” “We congratulate and thank them for their contributions to the sport, and we look forward to recognizing them this autumn at Enshrinement.”

The enshrinement ceremony will take place in Springfield, Massachusetts on September 10th.

Along with Bill Bradley, Ginobili is one of only two players to win a EuroLeague title, an NBA championship, and an Olympic gold medal. During his 16-year career with the San Antonio Spurs, Ginobili was a two-time All-Star, two-time All-NBA pick, and the 2007-08 Sixth Man of the Year. At the 2004 Olympics, he led his home Argentina to gold.

“I was a member of two amazing teams; I wouldn’t be here if it wasn’t for those two teams,” Ginobili remarked. “It’s not only about personal achievements. I never won a scoring title, an MVP award, or even a spot on the [All-NBA] first team. I’m here because of my surroundings, the players I’ve played with, the coaches I’ve worked with, and the organizations I’ve been a part of. I know I’ve been really fortunate.”

Ginobili, on the other hand, had an impact on the game by using lateral movement after picking up his dribble to set up jumpers in the paint. Because Ginobili had previously played for a EuroLeague championship-winning club in Bologna, Italy, it was dubbed the “Eurostep.”

“I never regarded myself as having accomplished anything or bringing anything fresh to the table. I just played in the only manner I could think of “Ginobili said, recalling the difficulty of scoring against 7-footer Shaquille O’Neal early in his career.

“I couldn’t jump over Shaq and dunk; I had to go around everybody,” Ginobili said. “That’s how I got to the rim with my skill set and physical talents.” I’ve been doing that for as long as I can remember.”

Hardaway was a five-time All-NBA selection, receiving first-team honors in 1996-97 and second-team accolades on three times. He won gold at the 2000 Olympics. In terms of assists, he is in the top 20 all-time and 12th in assists per game.

Cash was a four-time All-Star in the WNBA. She was a two-time NCAA winner at UConn, where she helped lead the Huskies to a perfect 39-0 record in 2001-02. In addition to her WNBA crowns and Olympic gold medals, she was a two-time NCAA champion at UConn, where she helped lead the Huskies to a perfect 39-0 record in 2001-02. Cash was elected into the Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame last year and is presently the New Orleans Pelicans’ vice president of basketball operations.

Whalen was chosen to the WNBA first team in 2008, 2011, and 2013. She is a two-time Olympic gold champion. She is the all-time leader in assists in the WNBA, having led the league five times. Whalen led the Golden Gophers to the Final Four in 2004 as a player at Minnesota, where she now serves as head coach, and was selected an All-American three times.

2 Related

Huggins has coached at West Virginia for 39 years and has over 900 career victories. He’s been to two Final Fours, once with the Cincinnati Bearcats and once with the Mountaineers.

Karl coached in the NBA for 27 years and holds the record for most career wins (1,175). He was crowned NBA Coach of the Year in 2013 with the Denver Nuggets after leading Seattle to the NBA Finals in 1996.

Nearly the course of a 28-year career, Evans officiated over 1,900 regular-season games, 170 playoff games, and 35 NBA Finals games until retiring in 2001.

Stanley, who is now the coach of the Indiana Fever, led Old Dominion to an NCAA Championship in 1984-85 and back-to-back AIAW championships in 1979 and 1980. With the Washington Mystics, she was voted WNBA Coach of the Year in 2002.

Both Hudson and Costello will be inducted into the Hall of Fame after their deaths. Hudson spent 11 seasons with the Hawks, averaging 20.2 points per game throughout his 13-year NBA career. Costello was recognized as the NBA’s last two-handed set shooter, leading the league in free throw percentage on two occasions.

Harris won NBA Coach of the Year with the Los Angeles Lakers in 1994-95, capping a more than 50-year coaching career. From 1972 to 1974, Shank-Grentz was a part of three straight AIAW national title teams at Immaculata University.

Yugoslavia won a silver medal in the 1968 Olympics and two FIBA World Cup silvers in 1963 and 1967 under Korac’s leadership. He owns the single-game scoring record in the EuroLeague with 99 points and was inducted into the FIBA Hall of Fame in 2007. In 1969, Korac was killed in an automobile accident.

This report was supported by the Associated Press.

Related Tags

  • swin cash
  • manu ginobili stats